The Eggless Threesome

Looks like the rest of the flock has taken up the Molting Movement. It was time; I cannot complain. However, if anyone will deign me with a bent ear, I most certainly AM going to complain about the lack of golden eggs. None for three days now. Yes, I know it’s an annual rite of passage for all egg-layers. Yes, I know it’s a period of much-needed rejuvenation for the little egg factories. I know it’s a time of rest. But dangitall, I need eggs! I just had my last two for breakfast, scrambled and served up with a side of whole wheat toast. Might I have to resort to buying eggs at the grocery store? Scandal! Atrocity! If I must, I must. And before I close on this subject (my whine session, really), I should give credit where credit is due. Here are this year’s egg counts:
Mabel: 140
Goldie: 129
Marguerite: 107
Not bad for a first year of egg production, especially in the hot, wet summer we enjoyed here in Florida.
The good news is that since Marguerite should be at the end if her seven- to nine-week molting phase, I should start seeing some out of her soon. I know I’ve said this before, and this is sounding like a broken record to my four loyal blog followers, but I’m hoping repetition will make it a reality.
Off to the races now; the girls have some free-ranging to do and the pottery wheel is calling my name.
Image: Saturday’s turnout session–the whole yard!!–under Spotman’s watchful eye (and Spotman under my watchful eye).

20111127-093809.jpg

One thought on “The Eggless Threesome

  1. As I type I can hear Idgie cackling loudly through our double paned french doors. I’ve stopped freaking every time I hear it on weekends now. I figure they’re doing it all week while we’re at work & no complaints yet. That must mean an egg is happening. I’ve gotten 2 already this morning. I’m happy to report we’re still at almost full production since they started laying in June. Every couple days, one or two takes a day off but for the most part, they are still little factories. My other chicken friend is belly aching about lack of production with her 6 hens. It’s been 4 days without a one for her.

Leave a Reply

